Holy Spoons

The gift of hospitality sometimes comes with food.

Soup du Jour (aka “Leftovers Soup”)

Soup du Jour (aka “Leftovers Soup”)… Because sometimes that’s all that’s in the fridge. (It’s a metaphor for life.)

It’s been a little cray-cray around here. OK. a LOT cray-cray. (And if I keep using the word “cray-cray” my children will come and BOP me on the head.)

ANYWAY.

In the last week, there have been 2 concerts (I’ve attended), 2 cookie exchanges (total of 12 dozen cookies), church, a trip to pick up The Johnnie from college, groceries, and… um… laundry. Yeah. Laundry. There was also the traumatic events of Newtown, CT. As a pastor and chaplain, it’s broken my heart. And that’s all I’ll say about that.

But it doesn’t really matter. People gotta eat. So in desperation yesterday, with lots of leftovers and NO time to cook, I decided to pull a trick from my mom’s cookbook and make “Leftovers Soup.” Which included on this particular day…

  • half of a chicken burrito bowl from the local burrito chain (they don’t pay me so I don’t give their name!) which included chicken, brown rice, corn salsa, black beans, sour cream and cheese
  • leftover veggies from one of the concert receptions, chopped (carrots, celery, cherry tomatoes)
  • 1/2 of a red pepper, seeded and chopped (because I only had 1/2 left)
  • 1 large Vidalia onion, sauteed with one chicken breast, cut up and seasoned with chipotle peppers, garlic, salt, pepper and fresh basil (because I forgot and clipped the basil plant and tossed it in before I realized it was basil and not cilantro)
  • about 4 cups of chicken stock (1 container was open in the fridge, and I pulled one from the pantry.)

Add everything to the crock pot. Turn on. Leave to go run errands. Come back. Stir. Adjust seasonings. Do more stuff. Stir later. Eat. Run to concert. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. And enjoy! πŸ™‚

NOTES:

  • Probably it would look prettier if I hadn’t added the sour cream and cheese from the burrito bowl. But since I couldn’t separate it out, oh well.
  • I had kale (still) but forgot about it. This would have been a good soup to hide it in.
  • The next time I’m this busy and have these kinds of leftovers, I’ll definitely make it again. πŸ™‚

leftoversoup

About Deb

Wife, mom, sister, pastor, chaplain, friend and Buckeye. I Yam what I Yam. Frequently imperfect, completely loved, and grateful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2012 by in A Deb Invention, crockpot, weird things you won't find on most "recipe blogs" and tagged , , , .
