Holy Spoons

The gift of hospitality sometimes comes with food.

Chicken Chili

“MAKE IT AGAIN!”

That’s music to my ears when I try a new recipe. I tweaked one I found on the web because I didn’t have the ingredients they listed. It was a hit. It’s hearty, healthy and SUPER easy. Caveats: the original recipe called for adding 2 teaspoons of chili powder. I didn’t do that and it was really quite savory without it. This is super easy and completely delicious!

Chicken Chili (Crockpot)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large can pinto beans (30 oz), drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup mild salsa
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 can (15 oz) chopped tomatoes with green chilies
  • about 1.5 pounds boneless and skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 cup chicken stock or bouillon
DIRECTIONS:
  1. Put the beans, salsa, onion, tomatoes and corn in the crockpot. Stir.
  2. Put the chicken on top.
  3. Add chicken stock and stir.
  4. Cover, turn crockpot to low and ignore.
  5. Serve with shredded cheese on top if desired.

NOTES:

Since I first made this, I have made some changes…

SUBSTITUTIONS:

1. Black beans or kidney beans instead of pinto beans (We just like the texture and taste of me better.)
2. For more of a “kick,” add one sliced and diced jalapeño pepper.

ADDITIONS:
1. 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
2. 1 Tbsp minced garlic

CAMPING:
I take canned chicken instead of fresh. I also pre-chop and bag my onions at home. This can cook in a dutch oven on coals on the campfire all day while you are hiking or playing.

About Deb

Wife, mom, sister, pastor, chaplain, friend and Buckeye. I Yam what I Yam. Frequently imperfect, completely loved, and grateful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2013 by in A Deb Invention, crockpot, freezer friendly, Soups and stews and tagged , , .
