Holy Spoons

The gift of hospitality sometimes comes with food.

Low(er) Fat Eggplant Parmesan

The eggplants in my veggy drawer were getting old. I already had pitched one because it was soft. I went looking for an eggplant parmesan recipe that wasn’t as greasy as usual. This recipe fit the bill because the eggplant slices were baked, not fried. And – even better – it called for the eggplant to be peeled. (I don’t know about you but I don’t like eggplant skin!)

My variation of the recipe I found needed some adjustments (because you know I rarely follow a recipe exactly). I had some button mushrooms left over and not enough eggplant, so I added mushrooms to the recipe.

The verdict was… YUMMY!

20130908-234910.jpg

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 small eggplants, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 pint mushrooms, washed and cut in half lengthwise
  • spaghetti sauce (your choice — homemade or store bought
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • garlic powder, oregano and parsley (to mix with Panko crumbs to taste)
  • shredded mozarella
  • shredded parmesan

DIRECTIONS:

1. Take bread crumbs and mix them with the garlic powder, oregano and parsley
2. Wash basil, set aside to dry.
3. Lightly grease a large cookie sheet and preheat oven to 350.
4. Dip eggplant slices in egg then roll in bread crumbs; place on cookie sheet, evenly spaced. Do the same with the mushrooms.
5. Bake sliced eggplant and mushrooms for 10 minutes, turning them once. Veggys should be tender and cooked through.
6. Finely chop the fresh basil.
7. In a baking dish spread a thin layer of spaghetti sauce to cover the bottom. Place a layer of eggplant slices in the sauce. Sprinkle with mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. Repeat with mushrooms, ending with the cheeses. Sprinkle basil on top.
8. Bake about 30 minutes or until dish is bubbling and the cheese is lightly browned.

UPDATES AND NOTES:

1. I added a second thin layer of sauce after the second layer, then sprinkled on the cheeses. It made it less dry, and I think it reheated better.

2. This recipe adapts nicely to the kind and age of eggplant that you have. However, it is a must that you peel the eggplants! The second time I made this, I forgot that step and it wasn’t nearly as good.

3. Additional add-ins to the bread crumbs: onion powder, dried thyme, dried basil.

About Deb

Wife, mom, sister, pastor, chaplain, friend and Buckeye. I Yam what I Yam. Frequently imperfect, completely loved, and grateful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2013 by in A Deb Invention, casserole, freezer friendly.
