Holy Spoons

The gift of hospitality sometimes comes with food.

Skeptical Face Chicken

So. When I got my hair cut recently, my stylist was telling me about her new favorite recipe for skinless chicken breasts. I paid attention. And thought, “Ew.” (Sorry Lisa!)’Then I went home and web searched for recipes which were similar. They sounded… bland.

I mean, really… Chicken and mayonnaise and parmesan? Maybe on a rocking sub sandwich. With spicy mustard and pickles and peppers. And if you must, onions… I was not convinced. Insert skeptical face here.

I spiced it up a little and here was the result:

INGREDIENTS:
Boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Low-fat mayo (I used one made with olive oil. Like that made a difference.)*
Parmesan/romano blend of grated cheese*
Garlic powder*
Fresh basil minced*

*This was a true fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants measurement – what smelled good and “enough”? What kind of mayo was in my fridge?

DIRECTIONS:
– mix the garlic powder and fresh basil with the grated cheese (to taste) and put in a small mixing bowl
– add enough mayo to a second bowl to coat the chicken
– dredge each piece in mayo (actually it was more like slime on both sides and squeegee off the extra – not sounding very appetizing yet, is it?)
– coat with cheese mixture
– bake in a greased pan at 350 for 20 minutes

THE OUTCOME:

Delicious! Yes. Really.

I served it with my own spice mix on the rice and some steamed broccoli. I’m sure it could have had a fancier presentation…

20130913-002825.jpg

About Deb

Wife, mom, sister, pastor, chaplain, friend and Buckeye. I Yam what I Yam. Frequently imperfect, completely loved, and grateful.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2013 by in A Deb Invention, freezer friendly, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
