Holy Spoons

The gift of hospitality sometimes comes with food.

Basil Garlic Butter

I felt sorry for this grocery store basil plant in February, so I bought it and brought it home. I figured it would start to wilt and I’d just clip it down and dry the leaves. Well… it thrived. I gave it a haircut and had 1/2 cup of fresh basil leaves. (And it’s still growing strong!)

I remembered watching chef Alex Guarnaschelli make basil garlic butter for something… pasta? For basting chicken? I dunno. It sounded delicious! So with that vague memory, I made some.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt (may omit if you use salted butter
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced (ahem… I used more. That’s a guess.)

Process all ingredients in food processor until very smooth. Scrape and remix as necessary. Mixture will be light green with flecks of basil in the butter.

Spoon half into a glass container with a tight lid for storing in the fridge (for immediate use.) Take the other half and make quenelles* and place on a tray on parchment paper. Once frozen, remove to a plastic freezer bag. I found out the hard way that this freezes into a rock, so making the quenelles and freezing half a batch is an easy way to quickly add some to a dish.

YUMMY on pasta, bread, and decadent for frying eggs for breakfast.

* a quenelle is a fancy word for a shaped plop of butter.

About Deb

Mom, sister, pastor, bereavement counselor, friend and Buckeye. I Yam what I Yam. Frequently imperfect, completely loved by the Divine, and grateful.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2020 by in Delish! and tagged , .